Educational Advice: Picking Classes

In front of the class schedule board on the 2n...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wanted to pass on some information I wish I knew before I started at the University. This will most likely pertain to community college, also. I can’t stress enough how a class  and the teacher can make or break your semester. Here is some advice to consider when picking your classes.

1.Talk to you counselor– I don’t just mean the general education counselor, your major (business) counselor is just as important. They helped me order my classes, pick my electives, and plan my whole education out. I would even go back every semester. One semester I could not get into the classes I needed, so they wrote me a special pass to get into a class that I did not have the prerequisites for.

2. Evaluate your schedule– Think about your commute. Leave some time for lunch. Do you need time to catch up on homework between classes? Is 6 classes too much? It took me a few semesters to figure out what works for me, but it is important for you to know yourself and what you need.

3. Check the teacher ratings– I can’t tell you how much a mean, difficult, hard to work with teacher can make your semester a nightmare. Go to http://www.ratemyprofessors.com and read about what other students think.

4. Pick classes that interest you– I find that I get a lot more out of college if I enjoy as least some of it. Maybe, take a PE class or an art class to bring some fun to your semester.

5.Pick a variety of classes– I know this may sound like the last one, but I have talked to classmates who take 5 accounting classes in one semester. I don’t even like to take 3 accounting classes at one time, because I get tired of the same material and sometimes I get them mixed up.

6. Take a class with a friend- It can be nice to know someone and talk to someone about the material. If you miss a class, you can have someone to copy the notes from.

7. Have back up choices– With the budget cuts, it is very hard to get the first class you want. I suggest having a list of desired classes. That way, when it’s time to sign up, you don’t have to waste time doing research.

Hope this helps…

Leave a Reply

